Laurentian University Insolvency
 

#SAVELUGREENSPACE
 
As Laurentian attempts to restructure under the court-ordered Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act (CCAA), a Request for Quotations has been submitted in their review of real estate holdings. 

As stewards of the Nepahwin Lake Watershed, we will do everything in our power to ensure that the University-owned shorelines and natural greenspace surrounding our lake - and beyond - remain untouched and accessible to our community.
Jess McShane Photography - 20-10 - Quesn

STEPS WE'VE TAKEN:

NLWSG is a member organization of the Coalition for a Liveable Sudbury (CLS). The coalition has taken a lead in bringing concerned voices together from across stakeholder groups. A NLWSG Representative attended the first CLS Community Meeting regarding the potential sale of University-owned greenspace and trail systems.

May 25, 2021: In letters submitted to the LU Chair of the Board of Governors, the President, the LU-CCAA Monitor and the City of Greater Sudbury Mayor and Councillors, NLWSG has outlined the multifaceted importance of keeping the LU-owned land within the watershed in its current natural state and expressed our opinion that it remain a publicly-owned, community-accessible greenspace. 

Steps YOU Can Take:​

1. Contact the media and decision makers today. Let them know how integral Laurentian's greenspace is to your well-being and the health of our community. If you're having trouble getting started, feel free to use any of the content found in the above letters from NLWSG. A list of key contacts can be found below. They say the squeaky wheel gets the grease, so start squeaking!

2. Join the “Help Save Laurentian Trails and its Ecosystem” Facebook Group. It is dedicated to raising awareness and posting current news on the issue.

3. Visit CLS' dedicated webpage to join their mailing list and stay informed.

CLS-Bilingual-Horizontal.png

As always, email us at nepahwinlake@gmail.com with your concerns/ideas and how you may want to get involved.

We will keep a watchful eye on these matters as they unfold and will report back when we know more.

In The Media

Sudbury nees to keep LU green space

Paula Worton

The Sudbury Star

May 29, 2021

Save Laurentian Greenspace / Laurentian Green Space a True Treasure

Rob Klein / Vanessa Richards

The Sudbury Star

May 26, 2021

Laurentian University trails should not be ‘monetized’ and sold

Sharon Roy

Sudbury.com

May 26, 2021

Personal Best: 'Stewards of the trail’ watch and wonder what’s next for local ski trails

Laura Young

The Sudbury Star

May 25, 2021

Laurentian University president grilled by northern Ontario MPs at Commons committee

Erik White

CBC

May 25, 2021

Laurentian issues request for quotations as part of real estate review process

Staff

The Sudbury Star

May 21, 2021

Advocates fear cash-strapped Laurentian may sell off greenspace

Jim Moodie

The Sudbury Star

May 14, 2021

Sudbury groups work to preserve Laurentian University greenspace

Alana Everson

CTV

May 13, 2021

 

Contact List

TITLE
NAME
EMAIL
PHONE
Mayor
Brian Bigger
brian.bigger@greatersudbury.ca
705-674-4455 x2514
Councillor - Ward 1
Mark Signoretti
mark.signoretti@greatersudbury.ca
705-522-3443
Councillor - Ward 2
Michael Vagnini
michael.vagnini@greatersudbury.ca
705-822-2997
Councillor - Ward 3
Gerry Montpellier
gerry.montpellier@greatersudbury.ca
705-698-2759
Councillor - Ward 4
Geoff McCausland
geoff.mccausland@greatersudbury.ca
705-626-6022
Councillor - Ward 5
Robert Kirwan
robert.kirwan@greatersudbury.ca
705-929-2778
Councillor - Ward 6
René Lapierre
rene.lapierre@greatersudbury.ca
705-923-5669
Councillor - Ward 7
Mike Jakubo
mike.jakubo@greatersudbury.ca
705-923-9252
Councillor - Ward 8
Al Sizer
al.sizer@greatersudbury.ca
705-592-2029
Councillor - Ward 9
Deb McIntosh
deb.mcintosh@greatersudbury.ca
705-929-2517
Councillor - Ward 10
Fern Cormier
fern.cormier@greatersudbury.ca
705-586-1640
Councillor - Ward 11
Bill Leduc
bill.leduc@greatersudbury.ca
705-665-5873
Councillor - Ward 12
Joscelyne Landry-Altmann
joscelyne.landry-altmann@greatersudbury.ca
705-674-1212
MPP - Sudbury
Jamie West
JWest-QP@ndp.on.ca
MPP - Nickel Belt
France Gélinas
fgelinas-qp@ndp.on.ca
MP - Sudbury
Paul Lefèbvre
Paul.Lefebvre@gc.ca
MP - Nickel Belt
Marc Serre
Marc.Serre@parl.gc.ca
CCAA Monitor
Sharon Hamilton
sharon.s.hamilton@ca.ey.com
416-943-2153
Laurentian President
Robert Haché
president@laurentian.ca
Laurentian Board of Governors
Claude Lacroix
clacroix@sudburylaw.com
Laurentian Board of Governors
Sonia Delmissier
sonia.delmissier@cambriancollege.ca
Laurentian Board of Governors
Martin Bayer
mbayer@weaversimmons.ca
Laurentian Board of Governors
Kathy Dokis
dokisk@rainbowschools.ca
Laurentian Board of Governors
Khari Gaynor
kgaynor@rogers.com
Laurentian Board of Governors
Maxim Jean-Louis
maxim@contactnorth.ca
Laurentian Board of Governors
Guy Labine
labine@sciencenorth.ca
Laurentian Board of Governors
Cathy Modesto
cathy.modesto@nouvelon.ca
Laurentian Board of Governors
Brian Montgomery
blmontgomery@mlalaw.ca
Laurentian Board of Governors
Nelson Toulouse
nelsontoulouse@sympatico.ca
Laurentian Board of Governors
Natalie Turvey
natalie.turvey@gmail.com
Laurentian Board of Governors
Jennifer Jocko
jjocko@mhc.on.ca
Letters to the Editor
Sudbury Star
sud.letters@sunmedia.ca
Letters to the Editor
Sudbury.com
editor@sudbury.com